2016-2017 Awards


Major Awards

Brian Payne Sportsman of the Year: Michael Bode

Msgr. Bannan Scholar Athlete:  Joel Edwards


Team Awards


MVP: Adam Zajkowski

Coach’s Award: Michael Bode




Coach’s Award: Rasheed Kelly

Most Improved: Emmanuel Ambroise

Junior Varsity

Coach’s Award  Anthony Camastro

Coach’s Award –  Matthew Smith

Most improved  Anthony Leone




MVP: Adrian Grzybowski

Sportsmanship: Kyle Sumprer

Junior Varsity

MVP: Griffin Leibman

Most Improved: Matthew Sacktig


Cross Country


MVP: Alexander Lomas

Most improved: Elias Diaz


MVP: Daniel Berhan

Most Improved: Kevin Plutt


Forensics Speech and Debate

MVP: Aidan Birth

Most Improved: Rafael Silva



MVP: Jonathan Caceres

Most Improved: Matthew Smith


Track and Field


MVP: Aaron Deleon

Most Improved: Jason Samuels


MVP: Daniel Berhan



June 23, 2016

Elmhurst, NY

The Cathedral community gathered as a whole – faculty, staff, students, and parents – to celebrate the accomplishments and success of our “men for greatness” both in the classroom and on the playing field.

2015 – 2016 Major Awards

Brian Payne Sportsman of the Year – Kelvin Garcia

Msgr. Bannan Scholar Athlete-  Anthony Santagata

Jim Dilg Athlete of the Year- Christopher Mahon

Coaches Award
 – Jason DeSilvestri

MVP – Leonard Lynaugh  

Varsity Basketball
Coaches  AwardChristopher Mahon

MVP– Thomas Moore

JV Basketball
Most ImprovedDaniel Berhan

Coaches Awards  – Neil Hickey

JV Bowling
Sportsmanship – Nicholas Telesco

MVP Joseph Krug

Varsity Bowling
– Christopher Kircher

MVP –  Adrian Grzybowski

JV Forensics
Most Improved-  Michael Murphy

MVPJoseph Krug

Varsity Forensics
SportsmanshipBrendan O’Leary

MVPNicholas Telesco

Track & Cross Country

Freshman Cross Country
MVP Kevin Plut        

Varsity Cross Country
Most Improved– Daniel Maher
MVP– Daniel Berhan

Freshman Track and Field
Most Improved Francis Wisniewski  

MVP Jonathan DeSilvestri

Varsity Track and Field
Most Improved – Daniel Goncalves

MVP Stephen Barbaro

SportsmanshipMartin Trujillo

MVPChristopher Mahon




May 20, 2015

Elmhurst, NY

Cathedral Prep held it’s annual Interscholastic Award Night.  Athletic Director, John O’Brien, ’01, hosted a wonderful evening.   Fr. Fonti, ’84, Rector-President, Richie Diaz, ’96, Principal, members of our Forensic and Athletic teams, along with our coaches, families and friends, came together in celebration of another outstanding interscholastic year.

2014-205 Major Award Winners:

Msgr. Bannan Scholar Athlete – Kevin Torres
Brian Payne Sportsman of the Year – Brian McCormack
Jim Dilg Athlete of the Year – Daniel DeBiase

Alumni President, Vincent LaPuma, ’01, was the guest speaker.  He spoke about his family and his challenges  “being an underdog.”  He congratulated all “the Interscholastic Student Athletes here tonight, to the coaches – thank you for your tireless efforts on behalf of Cathedral and it’s students, and to the parents and families, know that we are proud of your sons who represented Cathedral with honor and tremendous effort this year.”  Full text: 2015 Sports Awards Speech-2

[metaslider id=6541]

2014 – 2015 Interscholastic Awards

Varsity Soccer

Sportsmanship – Pedro Castillo

MVP – Anthony Santagata

JV Cross Country

Most Improved – Dyango Campoverde

Coach’s Award Daniel Maher

Varsity Cross Country

Most Improved – Daniel Arteaga

MVP – Brendan Gallagher

JV Forensics

Most Improved – Michael Younan

MVP – Jonathan Oscategui

Varsity Forensics

Sportsmanship – Maksymilian Bogusz

MVP – Tyler Flannery

JV Bowling

Sportsmanship – Adrian Grzybowski

MVP – Christopher Kirchner

Varsity Bowling

Sportsmanship – Thomas Siano

MVP – Andrew Mercaldi

JV Basketball

Most Improved – Michael Bode

MVP – Jose Velasquez

Varsity Basketball

Most Improved – Kevin Torres

MVP – Daniel Debiase

JV Baseball

Coaches Award – Ian Vasquez

MVP – Adam Zajkowski

Varsity Baseball

Co-MVP – Sean McQuail

Co-MVP – Richard Rodriguez

Major Awards

Brian Payne Sportsman of the Year –  Brian McCormack

Msgr. Bannan Scholar Athlete – Kevin Torres

Jim Dilg Athlete of the Year – Daniel Debiase